Back to Basics

It’s been silent on here for a while. I thought I had better things to focus on. Perhaps I did. It’s been a long time and I’m sure I’ve achieved things between then and now; I’ve been published as a model, I’ve appeared in a short film, yet I feel like I’m just skimming the surface of something greater.

Sitting here, after a job rejection, I’ve come to the conclusion that the only achievement I really want is to write, and be published. Job security, academic gain, all of that is nothing. I need to write. If anything can validate my time on earth it’s that.

And you know what? Good. I’ve dallied on the edge off bohemian life for far too long. I want to be a writer yet I barely write. All the drive I had at the beginning has trailed off, so it’s time to get back on track. This is the kick I need to get back into it as though my life depended on it.

Not that I’ll refuse a job offer should it come up, but there’s never going to be a perfect time to write – I’ve been waiting for a mythical sense of financial security that may never come.

I’ve done a huge amount of reading, I’m talking a book a day here! I need to be a part of that. I need to spin tales and put them down in words.

For me writing is a lot like exercise: the more working out you do the more working out you’re capable of doing. So this is what this blog will be about. Me writing about writing, purely for writing’s sake (God I’ve written writing a lot). Whenever I hit a wall I’ll come here and write about it, and you can read about it, if you like.

It won’t be Gilgamesh, but it’ll be mine, and that’s good enough. For now.

In the meantime I plan to order two books, both by friends of mine. I’ve been meaning to for so long it seems.

Walled by David Owain Hughes.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Walled-David-Owain-Hughes/dp/0957648081/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

And Suncaller, by B John Shaw Liddle.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Suncaller-B-John-Shaw-Liddle/dp/0956609090/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400666191&sr=1-1&keywords=suncaller

One must check out the competition, after all 😉

– Zero Nine

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

